Surfing & Yoga on the Water? Sounds fishy to me.

Posted on Updated on

20140513-170624.jpg

What do you get when you combine a love for water, the outdoors and a yogi? SUP Yoga, of course. It’s what’s happening these days. I’m here to tell you more about why you should try SUP Yoga!

September 2013 (151)

What is Paddle Boarding?

Paddle boarding is a sport that allows you to have fun on the lake, get a great workout in and get a tan! What more could you want? Paddle Board’s are large surfboard’s, they are stable and can double as a yoga mat should you desire to break out your downward facing dog. You are able to stand up, sit down, lie down and even paddle on your knees. The possibilities are endless! You’re thinking what if I fall in, I have no balance?  The good news is that your body is already good at balancing and you will surprise yourself at how good you will be. I promise!  But you know what? What if you do fall in? Trust me on hot days you’ll be jumping in! That’s part of the fun. And guess what? The board’s stable enough that you can climb right back on with minimal effort. Think about pulling yourself out of the pool. It’s basically the same thing.  It’s therapeutic, it’s outdoors, you can’t beat the scenery, and it’s just plain fun by yourself or with a group. Does it sound like I’m trying to make a sale yet? That’s because I am! It won me over on day one. Try it! You won’t regret it.

20140513-170848.jpg

SUP Yoga

SUP Yoga, is you guessed it, yoga on a paddle board. Yoga is a little more challenging on the paddle board but that’s part of the fun! I do recommend you take a paddle board lesson before you take a SUP Yoga class. You’ll be more confident on the board and get more out of the experience.  So maybe you are new to yoga and you’re wondering if SUP Yoga is something you should try?  My answer is absolutely! After an intro paddle board class, and a couple of yoga classes, sign up for a SUP Yoga class! We do basic yoga poses and if you want to try a balancing pose or a headstand, I’m not going to stop you :). You always have the option of child’s pose or tanning on your board. Did I mention Savasana? Savasana will have new meaning after your SUP Yoga class, relaxing in the warm sun, sounds of nature that sing in the background, the gentle breeze that brushes over you and makes you feel like you’re a million miles away from reality. Yeah, it’s that good!

WHERE TO TRY?

If you’re in the East Tennessee area come and try it with me! I’m teaching SUP Yoga at two locations and various land classes around the area. See my website for my schedule at http://www.bepresent100.com

SUP YOGA CLASSES

Sup Yoga-Norris Paddling Adventures-Norris Dam Marina
Sundays @10am $25

SUP Yoga-Billy Lush Brand-TN River-Saturdays @8:30am $25

Registration is required contact me to sign up at bepresent100@gmail.com

Follow me on twitter @bepresent100 and see my website for more info at http://www.bepresent100.com

20140604-103141-37901333.jpg

20140604-103427-38067152.jpg

21 thoughts on “Surfing & Yoga on the Water? Sounds fishy to me.

    weight2lose2013 said:
    June 4, 2014 at 2:51 pm

    You’re amazing! I can’t for the life of me can figure out how you’re able to do that. Doesn’t the motion of the water cause problems with balance?

      bepresentyoga responded:
      June 4, 2014 at 2:57 pm

      Thank you! Lol. I’ve had my fair share of falls. I’ve fell on the board and in the water haha. But I keep coming back for more! The boards are more stable than you would think and most of the basic poses you can do without falling in but I like to be daring sometimes, lol. It’s a fun new challenge. I love paddle boarding with or without the yoga. You should give it a try 😀

        weight2lose2013 said:
        June 4, 2014 at 3:03 pm

        I was thinking of getting a small kayak soon. We have lots of small lakes and ponds nearby and it would be a great way to have fun and get in shape. Are you a surfer as well?

        bepresentyoga responded:
        June 4, 2014 at 3:06 pm

        You know, I’ve never tried surfing, it’s on my list! Yes, kayaking is fun too! And like you said, a great way to get outdoors and get in shape. It’s a workout without feeling like a workout and those are the best kind in my opinion 😀

        weight2lose2013 said:
        June 4, 2014 at 3:08 pm

        Exactly! It’s like playing music. Once it becomes a chore, it’s not fun and once it’s not fun, then it’s not happening. 🙂

        bepresentyoga responded:
        June 4, 2014 at 3:10 pm

        So true! You play and write? Correct? Seems like I remember that from your posts?

        weight2lose2013 said:
        June 4, 2014 at 3:18 pm

        I do. I try to sing, but I’m not good at it. I have some of my originals at my blog under Musical Musings. I have a singer that sits in for me once and a while, and here’s a song that I wrote but she’s singing:
        [audio src="http://home.comcast.net/~rsalvi/song1.mp3" /]
        Don’t feel obligated to listen, and only if you have spare time.

        Rob

        bepresentyoga responded:
        June 4, 2014 at 3:21 pm

        I will definitely listen for some reason it’s not letting me pull up on my phone but will when I get home. I love music too! I dabble with writing myself it’s a great outlet.

        weight2lose2013 said:
        June 4, 2014 at 3:28 pm

        Really? Do you have any recordings that you can share?

        bepresentyoga responded:
        June 4, 2014 at 3:30 pm

        I hope to soon! I have several written but I need to finalize them 😀

        weight2lose2013 said:
        June 4, 2014 at 3:30 pm

        What instrument do you play?

        bepresentyoga responded:
        June 4, 2014 at 3:31 pm

        Guitar…and i know enough to write my songs that’s about it lol

        weight2lose2013 said:
        June 4, 2014 at 3:33 pm

        I’m sure you play well! I hope that you finalize some songs soon. I’m always interested in listening to material from fellow musicians!

        bepresentyoga responded:
        June 4, 2014 at 3:34 pm

        Ok I’ll send them to you when I do!

        weight2lose2013 said:
        June 4, 2014 at 3:37 pm

        Thank you, I look forward to hearing them! The song that I sent you was originally written on guitar. I had my brother transpose it to piano. It’s a jazzy kind of ballad, but I have more rock type music on my blog.

        bepresentyoga responded:
        June 4, 2014 at 3:40 pm

        Can’t wait to listen! Being in TN I’m more of a country writer lol true to my roots. But I love jazz and all types of genres.

        weight2lose2013 said:
        June 4, 2014 at 3:43 pm

        I love all kinds of music as well. I live in MA and there’s a strong country following here. As far as style, I write mostly rock/indie stuff, but there are other influences in there as well. 🙂

    HealthyMasters said:
    June 4, 2014 at 3:08 pm

    I have SO tried this, and I ended up in the water!! Think I need some more practice lol!

      bepresentyoga responded:
      June 4, 2014 at 3:11 pm

      I know me too! I just don’t include those pics lol. It does take some time and practice. It’s fun to try new things tho. Glad to hear you tried it out! 😀

    JennyO said:
    June 4, 2014 at 5:18 pm

    I MUST … TRY … THIS! Seriously how FUN. I’ve paddle boarded once a few years back, you being able to do Crow is amazing, on the board? My mouth literally dropped open, very cool!

      bepresentyoga responded:
      June 4, 2014 at 5:22 pm

      Oh thank you! Right after that I chin planted lol. Part of it but I couldn’t believe I got up either lol. Yes! I highly recommend it. A new yoga experience for sure 😀 let me know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

