When the moment sucks, do I still have to be fully present?

Posted on

20140516-142136.jpg

What if the present moment is the last place you want to be? Maybe you’ve just ended a relationship, experienced the death of someone you love, maybe you’ve experienced a life changing event or illness. Maybe it isn’t that dramatic at all, perhaps it’s just a really bad day or possibly a bad year, life happens. It’s okay not to love every single moment or even want to be in them.

The whole premise behind my blog, twitter and website is to be present in the moment 100% of the time. “Wherever you are, be all there.” It sounds like a great idea until the moment sucks! It’s ironic that I chose bepresent100 because I tend to have trouble being present in the moment, myself. That’s also why I chose it, it’s a beautiful reminder of why I started, where I began and hopefully where I will end up.  A helpful reminder for me to be present and just breathe. This moment, is all we have for certain and it too will pass. What I’ve observed by truly being in the present moment is that the bad moments last a lot less longer because I’m acknowledging them and dealing with them instead of avoiding them; and the good moments last longer because I’m truly appreciating where I am and what I’m doing. Here’s a few tips when the moment seems like the last place you want to be:

20140516-134754.jpg

1) Gratitude. Be grateful for what you have.  “The key to having it all, is knowing that you already do.” We are so blessed and I know it’s hard to see when you’re in the trenches. I’ve been there too. We truly have so much. Dwell on what you do have instead of what you don’t.

20140516-134232.jpg

2) Let Go. There will be things you can’t change. People you can’t change. Sometimes you don’t want to change. Let go of that control. Let go of everything having to be exactly as you envisioned it. Release those expectations for yourself and others. Control is merely an illusion anyway. The less you need to try to control things and people around you (yourself included) the happier you will be.

20140516-134326.jpg

3) Laugh. Every time you find yourself feeling sorry for yourself or being angry with the current situation, try humor. If you can laugh about it there’s a good chance that will help change your entire demeanor.

20140516-134443.jpg

4) Practice! Being fully present in the moment is not something we are use to, it’s something we fight so we don’t have to deal with our feelings. Something we don’t have time to do. Something we’ll do tomorrow. Pulled in EVERY direction but up, it’s not going to come natural. You will need to practice. Change your thoughts. Change your mind set. Appreciate your small accomplishments along the way.  Remember, progress not perfection.

20140516-134531.jpg

To be in the present moment doesn’t mean there’s always going to be happy moments, exciting moments or thrilling ones. It simply means we are taking advantage of this beautiful, wonderful life that we have received by acknowledging that above all else life is truly a gift.

Follow this adventurous yogi on Instagram @outdooryogi and on twitter@bepresent100

20140516-134615.jpg
<

5 thoughts on “When the moment sucks, do I still have to be fully present?

    weight2lose2013 said:
    May 16, 2014 at 7:33 pm

    All great tips. I have a terrible time being in the moment unless things are really calm in my life. There are times that my life is so hectic, that I’m all over the place, never giving any one thought my time. Excellent post!

      bepresentyoga responded:
      May 16, 2014 at 7:36 pm

      Thank you! It’s a struggle for me too. One day at a time 😀 I think we have so much going on that it’s hard to focus. I’m so happy you enjoyed it!

        weight2lose2013 said:
        May 16, 2014 at 7:41 pm

        Yeah, it’s hard but I can see the importance of making time for it. I did enjoy it. Your blog is inspirational and entertaining as well!

        Have a great weekend,

        Rob

    HealthyMasters said:
    May 16, 2014 at 8:23 pm

    Love this!!!! Practice makes perfect

Leave a Reply

