What Is Your Purpose?

Posted on

20140430-114555.jpg

What is your purpose? You don’t know? Don’t worry you’re not alone. If many of us are honest with ourselves it’s a tough thing to figure out. I’ve  had several conversations with people, including professionals established in their careers that say, “I still don’t know what I want to be when I grow up.” I personally have never had an epiphany on a career. Even in college I remember changing my major at least 5 times in one semester. The advisor signing off made me take a career exam after I changed my major the 3rd time. I couldn’t blame him. I was always coming up with a new idea or career. Which come to think of it, isn’t much different than today.

20140430-113223.jpg

Fast forward fifteen years later, I have a better idea of the things I love to do but I’m not sure if they are my calling or my purpose. I show up every day and do what I love when I can. I have a career but my passion lies within my hobbies which include teaching yoga, writing songs and writing anything for that matter. I haven’t been able to make a living on my hobbies as of yet but I’m working on it. 🙂

20140430-113400.jpg

I love life. I love that we have so many choices, so many opportunities but I still wonder, will there come a time that I ‘know that I know’ beyond a shadow of a doubt this is it? I’m not certain of that. What I am sure of, is that I love dreaming and I will continue to do that no matter what I’m doing or where I’m at. If some of those dreams come true, great! If none of them do, I’m pretty sure I’ll just find a new dream because I’m flexible like that. 🙂 That’s the beauty of recreating yourself and doing what you love. Nothing is ever final. You have choices. You have the ability to dream.
20140430-120341.jpg

I’m also finding out that maybe just maybe, we don’t have just one purpose, maybe we have many. Maybe our purpose is to help others by doing what we love, in that season, in that moment.
20140430-121748.jpg

So I’m curious, have you ever had an epiphany or a moment when you just knew this was what you were put on this earth to do?

Are you more like me, doing what you love and taking it one day, one dream at a time?

Comment and chime in. I’d love to know.

Here’s where you can find me: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Be-PresentYoga/336705043142303 and on twitter:@bepresent100 

20140430-113119.jpg

One thought on “What Is Your Purpose?

    infolcw said:
    May 2, 2014 at 2:52 am

    I really love the message of this post- it’s totally inspiring! I’m also a yoga instructor, and I’ve found that I do have many different “callings” in life- there are just so many different things I love to do! It’s nice to know that I’m not the only one 🙂 So, I can’t help but think that you may be interested in an online fitness coaching position that I’m looking to fill. I’m part of a team that includes a number of yoga instructors, actually, and everyone is really positive and inspirational. You’d be a great fit! Message me if you want to chat about it: info@leishacraftwellness.com TTYS! Leisha

Leave a Reply

