Missing You, Heart & Soul

Posted on Updated on

20140420-215711.jpg

“It has been said, ‘time heals all wounds.’ I do not agree. The wounds remain. In time, the mind, protecting its sanity, covers them with scar tissue and the pain lessens. But it is never gone.” Rose Kennedy

I don’t often get too personal but life tends to make it personal from time to time. 🙂 The older I get the harder holidays seem to be when you have lost people so dear to you. I don’t mean to sound ungrateful because I am such a blessed gal. I have so many amazing people in my life that I can’t even count them on two hands! The thing is some people come and pass through our lives that will never be forgotten. I like to think of them as soul mates not in the romantic sense but in the sense that they touch our heart and soul in such a beautiful way that only they can. For me one of those people was my grandmother or mamaw as I loved to call her. Easter was one of her favorite holidays. She always made this amazing bunny cake and she knew I hated coconut so she would always leave a part of it plain just for me. She was one amazing woman and I feel so blessed to have had the time that I had with her. I wrote this in remembrance of her today and I wanted to share because I know I’m not the only one missing someone today.

“I miss you. I keep waiting to feel some normalcy when a holiday arrives yet I’m looking for you. It’s been two years, technically seven but it could have been yesterday as far as I’m concerned. You learn to deal with the loss but that’s about it. I wonder if I’m normal. Is it normal to miss someone this much. I don’t know. You were home for so many years and I worry that home doesn’t exist anymore. I don’t dwell on it every day, I’m not sure I could but when I do it hits me like a ton of bricks. You’re gone. You’re not coming back. I can’t hear your voice or see your smile. I can’t feel you hug me tight. There’s nothing, nothing at all that I like about that.”

Let this be a reminder to hug those nearest and dearest a little tighter. To know that it’s always okay to remember and miss someone you love. To not take any time we get to share with our loved ones for granted. To live each day with no regrets. Love and Be Loved.

2 thoughts on “Missing You, Heart & Soul

    laydii said:
    April 21, 2014 at 6:44 pm

    Can I just tell you that I was in a very similar place today. My grandfather who passed away a few years ago was on my heart so heavy I wrote a post inspired by the loss here: http://wp.me/p4wgK6-4P. Seeing your ‘is this normal’… I have asked myself the same thing more than a few times. Be encouraged & thank you so much for sharing this.

      bepresentyoga responded:
      April 21, 2014 at 7:07 pm

      Thank you for sharing! Your post was beautiful and so true! That’s why I wanted to share too. Not to make anyone sad but maybe just to remember how blessed we are to get the time that we have with one another and to know that we do have each other and we are not alone in our suffering or happiness. It’s good to connect and share 🙂 thank you again!

Leave a Reply

